top of page
Search
  • melanie m

Creative critical reflection writeup

1.

My magazine challenges conventions in a few ways. One, my color palette is based on earthy tones to mimic the colors of nature and the outdoors, rather than the typical black and white with a pop of color here and there. Second, on the cover, there’s a dog with a thought bubble that draws the reader in to read one of the articles found inside the magazine. This isn’t typically seen in conventional magazines. Third, while most magazines stick to advertisements or articles that carry a similar theme, my magazine covers topics of varying areas, from figuring out if dogs can feel depressed to finding what type of dog breed you are.

The social group my magazine touches on is dog owners. The magazine allows for them to stay up to date on any news that goes on in the dog world, as well as provides resources to educate on how to care for dogs, and addresses issues dog owners face when caring for their pet.


2. My product interacts with its audience in an educational way. The purpose of my magazine is to entertain but most importantly educate. It educates on how to take care of your best friend and what would be best for them. There are many articles that touch on unconventional topics that would be good for dog owners to know, beyond the basic care of your dog. There's also lots of fun quiz's for people to take to answer interesting questions like what dog breed are you most like and what dog is best for you. My magazine would be distributed mostly digitally so it can be updated more frequently but also produce physical copies.


3. My production skills have improved in many ways throughout this project. First, my writing skills have improved because I have come across new vocabulary and learned how to write/advertise to cater to a certain audience (in my sense, my audience would be dog owners). Additionally, I learned how to photoshop! For my magazine cover, I had to learn how to remove the background of a photo and correct certain things to make a photo look more professional (hairs out of place, discoloration, etc.) Also, I learned what aspects are important when taking a photo for a magazine. Lighting, color, background, and the posing of the subject are all things I learned to pay attention to when taking photos.


4. Technology is integrated all throughout my magazine. Hardware has been used to not only take photos that are in the magazine, but also to edit and put together the magazine too. The software I used to photoshop the most was PowerPoint, and the software I used to write my articles was Word. Finally, the way I would incorporate the online aspect into my project would be by having a website for the magazine where dog owners could go to submit questions to be answered or suggest possible future articles to be included into the magazine.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page